Cart 0
SEA LEVEL: Cats on the Coast/On the Edge [1978 / 2013 Re-Issue]

Chuck Leavell

SEA LEVEL: Cats on the Coast/On the Edge [1978 / 2013 Re-Issue]

$ 18.00

SEA LEVEL: Cats on the Coast/On the Edge
1978 / 2013 Re-Issue

Cats on the Coast

1. That’s Your Secret
2. It Hurts to Want It So Bad
3. Storm Warning
4. Had to Fall
5. Midnight Pass
6. Every Little Thing
7. Cats on the Coast
8. Song for Amy

On the Edge

9. Fifty-Four
10. King Grand
11. Living in a Dream
12. A Lotta Colada
13. This Could Be the Worst
14. Uptown Downtown
15. Electron Cold
16. On the Wing

Both 1978 Albums from the Band Founded by Ex-Allman Bros. members Chuck Leavell, Jaimoe and Lamar Williams Both Albums Have Been Out of Print for Years

Features “That’s Your Secret” and “A Lotta Colada”

New Liner Notes by Scott Schinder

SEA LEVEL: Cats on the Coast/On the Edge

Sea Level started as an Allman Brothers offshoot, boasting three members (keyboardist Chuck Leavell, percussionist Jai Johanny “Jaimoe” Johanson and bassist Lamar Williams) from the mid-‘70s edition of the band, but became a major act in its own right with its tasty blend of jazz, blues and Southern rock (in other words, they would have fit nicely into today’s jam band scene). These two albums both came out in 1978 but chart major changes in the group; Cats on the Coast saw the addition of guitarist Davis Causey, percussionist George Weaver and multi-instrumentalist Randall Bramblett to the line-up, while Jaimoe and Weaver left and drummer Joe English joined for On the Edge. Despite the changing line-ups, these two records are remarkably consistent affairs featuring such signature Sea Level songs as “That’s Your Secret” and “A Lotta Colada;” they have, however, both been out of print for about a decade and command big bucks online. Our Real Gone reissue offers both records on a single, 70 minutes-plus CD, with notes by Scott Schinder…rediscover one of the most underrated outfits of the ‘70s!

Share this Product

More from this collection